To ensure our facility is kept clean, safe, and secure please keep in mind the following Policies:
MHOSC Facility Policies
Turf Specific Policies
First Aid Information
*Policies subject to change based on event and organization involved
Failure to comply with any of the MHOSC facility rules may be grounds for removal or expulsion from this facility.
California law allows persons with disabilities to bring trained service dogs and psychiatric service dogs, but not emotional support animals, to all public places. Several different California laws set out the rights of people with disabilities who use animals to assist them. These laws include the Unruh Civil Rights Act, the California Disabled Persons Act (CDPA), and the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA). Federal disability rights laws, such as the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) covers Fraudulent Representation.
These protections only apply to dogs that satisfy the ADA's definition of "service animal." The ADA defines a service animal as a dog that is "individually trained" to "perform tasks for the benefit of an individual with a disability." The tasks a dog has been trained to provide must be directly related to the person's disability.
A public place business operator can ask only two questions to determine if that individual's dog is a service dog:
• whether the dog is required because of a disability, and
• what work the dog is trained to perform.
The public place cannot require a person to "prove" beyond verbal confirmation that their dog is a service dog. A service dog is not required to be registered, certified, or identified as a service dog. Service dog animal tags are available as outlined in FA Code § 30850.
Any person who knowingly and fraudulently represents himself or herself, through verbal or written notice, to be the owner or trainer of any canine licensed/qualified/identified as a guide, signal, or service dog shall be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding 6 months, by a fine not exceeding $1,000, or by both fine and imprisonment. Cal. Penal Code § 365.7.